Department of Physics

Programmes Offered Faculty Members


The origin of the Department of Physics can be traced back to 1890 when a chair for applied Mathematics & Physics was created in the college.Dr. A C Mitchell – a Scottish Scientist and Fellow of Royal Society of Edinburgh was appointed in that post. Dr. Mitchell who held many important positions in the state later was responsible for building the magnificent Physics laboratory and starting a separate dept. for physics in 1906-1907. B A degree course in Physics was started in1908. The department was part of science college in 1923. In 1927 the department became part of the University College under the Travancore University. M.Sc course in Physics commence in 1941. Research activities in the department gathered momentum due to the introduction of M Sc course. Research works were carried out in diversified areas such as material Science, X-rays , Natural Radioactivity, Cosmic Rays and Microwave propagation. The department came under the administration of Government Of Kerala in 1957. M Phil course started in 1994. Semester system introduced for PG course from 2001